Linked Clients

Perhaps your Client is a company that has multiple employees who need to have an account or you are working for a family where both spouses need an account. In these situations, it makes sense to link these accounts. When linking, at least one Client must be the Main Client. You can link as many Main Clients and Sub Clients as you want.

Main Clients can see the Dashboard, Documents, Dossiers, Tasks, Invoices and Messages belonging to all the linked accounts, both for other Main Clients and all Sub Clients. Main Clients also have some account management options like resetting a password, suspending an account or editing a Client Profile for linked accounts. In essence, Main Clients can view and manage linked Clients much like a Team Member can view and manage all Clients.

Spouses might want to see everything their partner can see, but in larger organizations that might not be optimal. That is where Sub Clients come in. Sub Clients are just like Main Clients, except that they can only see their own Dashboard, Documents, Dossiers, Tasks, Invoices and Messages. Unlike their linked Main Clients, they cannot access anything belonging to their colleagues.

Every Main Client or Team Member can turn a Sub Client into a Main Client (or a Main Client into a Sub Client).

Linking Clients

If you have already created two Client accounts and now want to link them, this is the way to do it:

  • Go to the Client Dashboard for the person whom you want to make the Main Client.
  • Open the menu with the three dots (Three dots) at the top of their Client Dashboard and select the option Link with another Client.
    Link with other client
  • On the following page, select the Client you want to turn into the Sub Client and enter your own password.
    Enter password
  • Now click “Link User”. This opens up the list of Clients linked to the Main Client you selected. On this page you can immediately promote the Sub Client to a Main Client.

Creating a Sub Client

It is possible for a Main Client to create Sub Clients for himself. Team Members have two options: they can create Sub Client from the Manage Sub Clients page or they can link two existing Clients.

If you want to create a Sub Client for an existing Client, simply create a new Client and then link the two accounts.

In order to allow Client to add his own Sub Clients, a Team Member must allow this Client to have Sub Clients in the Client’s profile.

(Clients Only) – If a Team Member has enabled Sub Accounts for you, you will see a Menu item called Users. If you click on this Users item, this will open a page that is very similar to the Clients page that Team Members can see. At the top of that page you will find a button that allows you to add another

You can add another Client via the Users menu.

Please see the section on creating a Client account as a Team Member for further instructions.

If you do not see the Users item in the Menu, then the organisation that runs your portal has not allowed you to create Sub Clients. Contact any Team Member for assistance. It may also be the case that you are currently a Sub Client, in which case you should contact a colleague who has a Main Client account and ask to be made into a Main Client.

Turning a Sub Client into a Main Client

If you want to turn an already linked Sub Client into a Main Client, you:

  • Find the account –find the Client whose account you want to promote to Main Client on the Clients page.
  • Click on the Manage Sub Clients option – open the submenu under the three dots (Three dots) on the Client’s row and then click Manage Sub Clients.
    Sub clients
  • 3. This opens up a list of all the linked Clients belonging together. The name of the original Main Client will be at the top. On this page, find the row with the Sub Client you wish to promote and click on the three dots (Three dots) to open the submenu.
  • In the submenu select Make Manager.
    Make manager
  • The Sub Client is now another Main Client with the same rights as the original Main Client.

Turning a Main Client into a Sub Client

If you want to turn an a Main Client into a Sub Client, you:

It is not possible at this time to demote the original Main Client.
  • Find the account –find the Client whose account you want to demote to Sub Client on the Clients page.
  • Click on the Manage Sub Clients option – open the submenu under the three dots (Three dots) on the Client’s row and then click Manage Sub Clients.
    Manage sub clients
  • This opens up a list of all the linked Clients belonging together. The name of the original Main Client will be at the top. On this page, find the row with the Main Client you wish to demote and click on the three dots (Three dots) to open the submenu.
  • In the submenu select Demote Manager.
    Demote manager
  • The Main Client is now a Sub Client.